//
you're reading...
Marketing, social media

Sun Tzu on Social Media

It has been a while blogosphere. I have finally decided to take a time out from some UI design and social media work to write another blog post. I am going to try to get back to posting regularly but we will just have to wait and see. If I don’t, hopefully it is because I have a job keeping me busy. Here we go.

“Sun Tzu said: The art of war is of vital importance to the State. It is a matter of life and death, a road either to safety or to ruin. Hence it is a subject of inquiry which can on no account be neglected.”

Sun Tzu The Art of War

Admittedly this is a bit of an overdramatic outlook in reference to social media. Though some people may approach social media as if it were the be-all and end-all of marketing right now. Social media can be vitally important if done correctly. I am not convinced that a bad social media approach is quite as detrimental as a bad website, at least at this point. But I digress.

I would agree that social media should not be neglected. It can also be a road to safety (read: success). For this post I am going to concentrate on Facebook, probably because I have been working in it a lot recently. I see there as being two major factors to a good Facebook presence.

First, and most importantly, be human. Being social is about interaction and conversation. “Buy my product, buy my product, buy my product” is not social. That goes for you too service providers. People don’t want to interact with a sales pitch, advertisement or a marketing campaign. They want to interact with the brand. They want their humanity acknowledged.

Second, use Facebook’s functionality. Facebook pages are very powerful these days. I am in the middle of helping develop a new website for a start up that will be used solely for Facebook. I may be totally different than everyone else, but I don’t spend a lot of time reading the info tab. Usually I just go to find a URL. (“an” sounded funny so I disregarded grammar) An interactive tab is much more beneficial than a beautifully crafted info tab, at least in my opinion.

Also remember, social media is opt in. It is a more interactive form of email marketing. People “like” you in order to receive info and interact with you. Make it worth their while. Provide value.

Now go wage social media war. Just make it more friendly than actual war.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

